Let the Birds do the Story Telling yah ;)

To be frank, the first time I heard about personalised learning was at class last Tuesday. After the chat session plus some reading on the net, I’ve got a better idea about personalised learning.

“Personalised learning,” he added, “means assessment, teaching, curriculum and school strategies designed to ensure that the talents of every individual can be fully realised. It aims to raise standards for all by setting high expectations based on a sound knowledge and understanding of every child (Miliband 2004)

This is not individualised learning where pupils sit alone at a computer, nor is it pupils left to do their own thing. It is the practical application of the insight that every single child has a talent of some kind or another. It is up to teachers and schools to recognise that talent and develop it.

– Quoted from http://www.teachernet.gov.uk/teachers/issue31/primary/features/Whatdoespersonalisedlearningmeantoyou_Primary/

Ok, so let move on to the lesson which I want I want to implement personalised learning in using the tool of my choice, Storybird.

storybirdBasically, Storybird is a online tool of making e- storybooks or called as ‘Stroybirds’ in the website using a set of artwork provided in the site by different artists. So, I explored this tool and I thought by myself “how are we supposed to create stories based on pictures which many of them aren’t related at all!? The storyline would be far off track!”. Then, I randomly chose a Storybird created by someone nicknamed ‘danreines’. On the cover of the Storybird, I spotted the name ‘Mia’ as the author. Therefore, I suppose she is a girl. http://storybird.com/books/the-night-the-aliens-came/

alien storybird

It didn’t take a millisecond for my lips to move by themselves to say “beautiful!”. She was using a set of different pictures and yet, she managed to create a good Storybird, the one with a soul. So I thought, this could help to develop children’s talent intensively as for their personalised learning.

The Lesson

Year : Standard 5 pupils

Proficiency : Medium or High

Learning Outcome(s) : 4.4 Construct simple and compound sentences with guidance and independently

4.4.3 Construct simple and compound sentences independently by looking at pictures

2.4  Tell stories based on pictures and other stimuli, and recite poems

2.4.5 Tell simple stories

Learning Objective(s) : By the end of the lesson, the pupils should be able to :

i) Write stories based on the artworks to produce a storybook or a Storybird

ii) present their storybook or Storybird

Focused Skill : Writing and Speaking

Integrated Skill: Reading and Listening

Steps:

Presentation

1 Teacher presents Mia’s Storybird (the one above)

2. Teacher demonstrates how to use make a Storybird

Practice

self made storybird

1. Teacher pairs up the students

2. Students create Storybirds under the facilitation of the teacher

Production

1. Teacher calls the pairs to present their Storybirds

2. Teacher gives feedbacks on their presentation

3. Teacher draws a table on the whiteboard consists of the groups name and the star they deserve

4. Teacher asks the students to vote for their favourite Storybirds of their friends.

Closure

1. Teacher rewards the winner

Maybe when I get to teach for real later, I can get the chance to employ Storybird in my lessons. Perhaps, I could use some of your feedbacks for development of this lesson. Your kind contributions are highly appreciated.

☆⌒(*^-゚)v Thanks!!

  1. #1 by Doreen on March 8, 2011 - 3:10 pm

    Faizal, I used the same tool. =) I like the way you always go the extra mile to do things. Your blog is very detail and the lesson you plan is very detail too. I think you are the first person that I see who used curriculum specifications in their blog. Most of us would just briefly state the language focus and etc but you filled in the details. One thing I would like to suggest is the teacher can actually let the pupils give feedbacks rather than just voting which storybook is the best. Other than that, very good!

  2. #2 by sakiladevi on March 8, 2011 - 4:04 pm

    Hi Faizal! Thanks for the wonderful lesson. here’s a question. How do you assess pupils in this lesson?

Leave a comment